cpoinformation.gif - 2048 Bytes

Cook County - Illinois
Map of its Townships

Cook County was established on January 15,1831. It is near the northeast corner of the state of Illinois. It borders Will County on the south, Dupage and Kane Counties on the west, McHenry County on the northwest, Lake County on the north, and Lake Michigan and the State of Indiana on the east.
See #12 on the Illinois Counties Map

The Townships of Cook County, Illinois

cook.gif - 12037 Bytes

This is only a representation. For a more detailed map, contact Cook County.

For genealogists and historians - Township history

Established: 1831 County Seat: Chicago

Township Name Changes:
Calumet formed as Hope on June 2, 1862; name changed on June 17, 1862.
Lemont name changed from Palmyra 1850.
Leyden name changed from Monroe 1850.
Palos name changed from Trenton 1850.
Proviso name changed from Taylor 1850.
Stickney formed from Lyons 1901.

The present county, or parts of it, were formerly included in:
Putnam, Fulton, Pike, Clark, Crawford, Edwards, Madison, St Clair, Knox NW Territory

Origin of the name of the county:
Named for Daniel P. Cook, a pioneer lawyer, first Attorney General of the State of Illinois and Representative in Congress from 1819 to 1827.

See also:
Cook County Statistical Information
Cook County Cemeteries

Communities of Northern Illinois
ComPortOne Government Home Page
ComPortOne Home Page