cpoinformation.gif - 2048 Bytes

Lake County - Illinois
Map of its Townships

Lake County is in the NE corner of the state of Illinois. It borders McHenry County on the west and Cook County on the south. Its northern border is Kenosha County, Wisconsin. Lake Michigan lies along Lake County's eastern border.
See Illinois Counties Map

The Townships of Lake County, Illinois lake county illinois township map

This is only a representation. For a more detailed map, contact Lake County.

For genealogists and historians - Township history

Established: 1839

County Seat: 1839–1841 Burlington; 1841–Waukegan (Little Fort)

Township Names:
Cuba Township was previously called Troy
Grant Township was called Goodale
Lake Villa Township was formed from Antioch, Avon and Goodale
Moraine Township was changed from Deerfield Township
West Deerfield Township formed from Deerfield
Zion Township formed from Benton

The present county, or parts of it, were formerly included in:
McHenry, Putnam, Fulton, Pike, Clark, Crawford, Edwards, Madison, St Clair, Knox (NW Territory)

Origin of the name of the county: Named for Lake Michigan.

Historical Source: Cyberdriveillinois

Lake County Census & Statistical Information
Lake County Cemeteries

Communities of Northern Illinois
ComPortOne Government Home Page
ComPortOne Home Page